Daniel Romano Unveils Another New Album 'How Ill Thy World Is Ordered'

Check out "A Rat Without a Tale" from his ninth record of 2020
Daniel Romano Unveils Another New Album 'How Ill Thy World Is Ordered'
Continuing to be as prolific as ever, Daniel Romano is back with yet another new album in 2020. This one is coming from his Daniel Romano's Outfit and going under the title of How Ill Thy World Is Ordered.

The upcoming album — Romano's ninth of the year — arrives on September 18 via You've Changed. And breaking out of the digital realm, this one will actually even get a vinyl and CD release.

Right now, though, he's previewing the album with the new track "A Rat Without a Tale," which has also arrived alongside a video. Check out the song and its video below.

For the unfamiliar, the Outfit includes Julianna Riolino (vocals), David Nardi (guitar, vocals), Roddy Rossetti (bass), Ian Romano (drums), supplemented here by Mark Lalama (organ, piano), Briana Salmena (vocals), Victor Belcastro (sax) and Aaron Hutchinson (trumpet).

According to a press release, How Ill Thy World Is Ordered was created with this in mind:

The band assembled in studio in a perfectly tuned geometry to record these new songs following simple guidelines and simple rules: play the whole thing, in sequence, 3 takes or bust, with no overdubs; play "the sound of the feel of a snake bite"; play "a heist on horseback for fool's gold."

It also adds this to the equation:

The always-darkened clubs and the strange and dirtied hovels that offered remote shelter to this particular breed of restless musicians on their long and winding journeys across the continents have darkened more. It's a different age to ply a trade. Every day reveals new cracks in the artifice, new crimes from the oligarchs and politicians, new types of genocide and dispossession. New visions of contempt. O, how ill this world is ordered.

Other Romano 2020 efforts have included A Splendour of Heart, Dandelion, Spider Bite, "OKAY WOW," Visions of the Higher Dream, Content to Point the Way, the Jade Hairpins collaborative EP Super Pollen, a book of love poems, a 22-minute song with Tool's Danny Carey and a Bob Dylan tribute album.

How Ill Thy World Is Ordered:

1. A Rat Without A Tale
2. How Ill Thy World Is Ordered
3. Green Eye-Shade
4. First Yoke
5. Joys Too Often Hollowed
6. Joys Too Often Hollowed Pt 2
7. Drugged Vinegar
8. Never Yet In Love
9. A Secret Still To Be Betrayed
10. No More Disheartened By The Dawn
11. Amaretto And Coke

Pre-order How Ill Thy World Is Ordered.