Dâm-Funk Details Collaboration with Funk Great Steve Arrington

Dâm-Funk Details Collaboration with Funk Great Steve Arrington
It's been a while since Los Angeles' Dâm-Funk has brought the damn funk via a new proper release. While we don't know when his new solo effort, reportedly titled Invite the Light, is set to arrive, but he will whet our appetites with a new collaborative effort later this summer.

The artist born Damon Riddick has teamed up with funk legend Steve Arrington, who's best known for his work fronting the band Slave. Arrington will take on vocal duties in the project, while Dâm-Funk will lay down the tracks. Their collaborative album is called Higher.

If Arrington's name doesn't sound familiar, you've likely heard his work, as he's been sampled on tracks from hip-hop's elite, including Jay-Z, A Tribe Called Quest, De La Soul, Snoop Dogg, N.W.A. and many others.

Though he left the music industry in 1990, the singer is dedicated to this new project, hard at work on practising with a full band for an upcoming tour.

For now, we know that Stones Throw Records will issue Higher on August 6. The album art is available above, while the tracklisting is below.

Thanks to FACT for the tip.


1. I Be Goin Hard
2. Tap That
3. Magnificent
4. Good Feeling
5. I Be Trippin'
6. I Love This Music
7. Higher
8. Do You Feel Me
9. The Way I Feel About You
10. Blow Your Mind
11. Hear Me Knockin'
12. Galactic Funtionals
13. For The Homies (Peanut Butter Wolf edit)
14. Crazy in Here! (CD/digital bonus)